LLC and Corporate annual reports are required by most states, check your due date and fees here...

Annual, Biennial, Periodic, and Statement of Information reports need to be filed for most entity types in most states - it's just part of doing business and staying compliant.

To keep your entity in good standing with the state, most Secretary of State offices require regular updates. 

Commonly referred to as Annual Reports, these statements of information will include current Registered Agent contact info, principle place of business, member and director names, and similar.

The main purpose is really to keep the state in the loop if anything has changed with your business, so that they can still conduct all the necessary formalities, such as: service of process, revenue or tax collection, and licensing – among others.

A little bit more about this table of Annual Report dates and fees…

This table is focused on Domestic Corporations and LLC’s, as those tend to be the most common. Occasionally, states will have different due dates and fees for Foreign Corporations and LLCs.

Similarly, if you have a Nonprofit Corporation or a Limited Liability Partnership (LLP or LLLP) – the filing requirements and fees may be different.

Lastly, if no late fee is listed it doesn’t mean there is no penalty for missed reports. In most cases the Secretary of State, or corresponding revenue collection agency, will require any missed reports and fees to accompany a current report.

They may dissolve your company without notice, and charge you for reinstatement when you apply to file a past-due report. In some cases they may even accrue and charge interest.

All that is to say – don’t miss your due date!

Registered Agent service is a great way to stay on top of this and make sure you’re compliant.

15 minutes is all it takes, are you ready?

Launch your new business today for just $129 + state fees.

Last Updated: March 2018Report Due DateCorporation (Domestic)LLC (Domestic)Report Filing FeeFrequencyLate FeeOnline Filing
AlabamaAttached to Business Privilege Tax PaymentXX$10 annual
AlaskaJanuary 2ndXX$100 biennial$37.50 X
ArizonaAnniversary DateX$10 annualX
ArkansasMay 1stXX$150 (LLC), $150 minimum (Corporation)annual$25 (+ interest for Corporations)X
CaliforniaAnniversary MonthXX$25 (Corporations), $20 (LLC)annual (Corporations), biennial (LLC)X
ColoradoWithin 2 Months of Anniversary MonthXX$10 annual$50 X
ConnecticutAnniversary MonthXX$20 annualX
DelawareMarch 1stX$175 minimumannual$125 X
FloridaMay 1stXX$150 (Corporation), $138.75 (LLC)annual$400 X
GeorgiaApril 1stXX$50 annual$25 X
HawaiiAnniversary QuarterXX$15 annual$10 X
IdahoAnniversary MonthXX$0 annualX
IllinoisMonth Previous to AnniversaryXX$75 annual$300 X
IndianaAnniversary MonthXX$20 biennialX
IowaMarch 31stXX$60 biennialX
Kansas3.5 Months After Fiscal Year EndXX$50 annualX
KentuckyJune 30thXX$15 annualX
LouisianaAnniversary DateXX$30 annualX
MaineJune 1stXX$85 annual$50 X
MarylandApril 15thXX$300 annual
Massachusetts2.5 Months After Fiscal Year End (Corporations), Anniversary Date (LLC)XX$500 annualX
MichiganFebruary 15th (LLC), May 15th (Corporation)XX$0 annualX
MinnesotaDecember 31stXX$0 annualX
MississippiApril 15thXX$0 annualX
Missouri3 Months After Anniversary MonthX$0 n/aX
MontanaApril 15thXX$0 annual$15 X
NebraskaMarch 1st (Corporation), April 1st (LLC)XX$10 biennialX
NevadaAnniversary MonthXX$200 annual$75 X
New HampshireApril 1stXX$100 annual$50 X
New JerseyAnniversary MonthXX$50 annualX
New Mexico3.5 Months After Fiscal Year EndX$0 n/a
New YorkAnniversary MonthXX$9 biennialX
North CarolinaApril 15thXX$200 annualX
North DakotaAugust 1st (Corporation), November 15th (LLC)XX$50 annual
Ohio$0 n/a
OklahomaAnniversary DateXX$25 annualX
OregonAnniversary DateXX$100 annualX
Pennsylvania$0 n/a
Puerto RicoApril 15thXX$150 annual
Rhode IslandMarch 1st (Corporation), November 1st (LLC)XX$50 annual$25 X
South CarolinaAttached to Corporate Tax ReturnXX$0 n/a
South DakotaAnniversary DateXX$50 annualX
Tennessee3 Months After Fiscal Year EndX$300 annualX
Texas$0 annual
UtahAnniversary DateXX$15 annual$10 X
Vermont2.5 Months After Fiscal Year EndXX$35 annualX
VirginiaAnniversary MonthXX$50 annualX
WashingtonAnniversary MonthXX$60 annualX
Washington D.C.April 1stXX$300 annual$100 X
West VirginiaJuly 1st (Corporation), April 1st (LLC)XX$25 annual$50 X
WisconsinAnniversary QuarterXX$25 annualX
WyomingAnniversary DateXX$0 annualX

*Disclaimers: This information is manually curated and updated periodically. The accuracy of this information is not guaranteed, and no warranties are given or implied.

15 minutes is all it takes, are you ready?

Launch your new business today for just $129 + state fees.

Important Definitions

You’ll notice a variety of due date types. The most common LLC annual report due date is in the “Anniversary Month”, which generally implies the month in which your LLC was formed with the state.

This may vary though, as some states will look to the date of the filing rather than the date the filing was approved. 

Alternatively, some states will peg the due date to the end of a fiscal year as reported on your business tax return. 

If you’re at all unsure, consult with your Registered Agent service, an attorney, or the Secretary of State office.

The majority of states require an Annual filing, while there are a few that require only a biennial filing.

This may vary by entity type, such as in California where LLC’s only need to file biennially. 

This is one thing to keep a watchful eye on. Late fees can add up quickly. For example, some states may require that you pay a hefty late fee and any fees for past-due reports.

In addition to those, if the Secretary of State took action and dissolved your entity in that time, you will likely have to pay reinstatement fees (which can be very expensive).

Similarly, in states with franchise taxes (even if it’s just a flat amount) the Secretary of State or revenue collection agency may choose to impose interest on unpaid fees.

Free Business Name Search

This is a complimentary free name search, we’ll respond via email with any findings. This doesn’t initiate or replace a corporate filing order. 

15 minutes is all it takes, are you ready?

Launch your new business today for just $129 + state fees.